United States Map: States Where Cannabis is Legal

Map by Rolling Stone

This map of the United States shows the legal status of cannabis in each state.

It shows that cannabis is legal for recreational use in 17 U.S. states. 19 states only permit it for medical use, and more than a dozen states do not have a program for its legal use. Its legality in South Dakota is still pending.

Drug testing company DISA notes that six U.S. states allow only the use of cannabidiol (CBD oil) as a medicinal treatment: Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Texas, and Wisconsin. In addition, there are five states that prohibit all forms of cannabis: Idaho, Kansas, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Wyoming.